Skip to content ↓

Governors' and Trustees' Information

Welcome to the Governors' and Trustees' Information Page

As a Local Governing Board, we have responsibility for providing highly effective, searching and ambitious governance through determining, monitoring and keeping under review the school improvement plan and the application of policies, plans and procedures within which the school operates.  To achieve this we work very closely with the Headteacher (who is a member of the board) and the strategic leadership team. 

The strategic function of our Governing Board can be summarised as:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff, and
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

The Board of Trustees (TTLP) retains its core strategic functions as detailed within the “Scheme of Delegation”.  These can be summarised as:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction of the multi-academy trust, and
  2. Overseeing the financial performance of the schools and making sure the trust’s money is well spent.

Please refer to The TRUE Learning Partnership’s website for full details on the Trust Board and how the local governing body works with the Trust to ensure the vision and values of The TRUE Learning Partnership are embedded at a local level.

Please refer to TTLP's website for key financial information about the Trust.

The School Governing Board is made up of the following members:

Name Type Term of office Appointing body Committees

Anita Rolfe

Chair of Governors



Chair from 01.04.2022

Governing Board

FGB, Staffing & Resources

Rob Westbrook

(Vice- chair of Governing Body)

Co-opted Governor



Governing Board

FGB, Staffing & Resources, Pay Committee

Charlotte Fazackerley  Parent Governor 21.04.2022

Parents FGB

Martin Shaw

Staff Governor




FGB, Curriculum & Welfare

Cathryn Ingelton Co-opted Governor



Governing Board FGB, Staffing & Resources

Caron Tinto


Co-opted Governor



Governing Board FGB, Careers Link

Matthew Dean


From 01.01.2021

Ex-officio as headteacher

FGB, Staffing & Resources, Curriculum & Welfare

Anne Handby

Staff Governor




FGB, Staffing & Resources


Alex McMillan


Co-opted Governor





Governing Board


FGB, Curriculum & Welfare, SEND Link


Rachelle Donn


Co-opted Governor





Trust Board


FGB, Curriculum & Welfare


James Shephard


Co-opted Governor





Trust Board



The Governors below stepped down from the Local Governing Board in the last 12 months.

Name Type Term of office Appointing body Committees

Elizabeth Dockry


Alex McMillan

Coopted Governor


Parent Governor

16.09.21 - 12.09.23




Governoing Board




FGB, Staff & resources



FGB, Curriculum & Welfare


Janet Ayres


Coopted Governor





Governing Board


FGB, Curriculum & Welfare


Paul Cormie


Coopted Governor





Governing Board



Our Governing Board structure is made up of the following committees:

1. Full Governing Board

2. Staffing & Resources Committee

3.  Curriculum & Welfare Committee

The Full Governing Board meets 5 times per year.  Committees meet three times in the year.  Dates of our meetings can be found below in the Quality Improvement Framework. There are other committees that meet on a less frequent or when required basis. 

Parents/carers are welcome to attend governing body meetings as observers if they wish.  Please e-mail if you wish to discuss such attendance.  Minutes of meetings are able to be viewed through appointment, please e-mail if you wish to make an appointment to view minutes of a particular governor meeting.

The Governing Board Quality Improvement Framework includes a full breakdown of which committees governors serve on and which aspects of our School Improvement Plan and school teams they link to.  This can be found below.

Each governor takes a lead within their strategic role over an element of our School Improvement Plan and in particular:

  • Mrs Anita Rolfe; Safeguarding Link Governor
  • Dr Rachelle Donn; Pupil Premium Link Governor
  • Mr Rob Westbrook; Health and Safety Link Governor
  • Mr Alex McMillan; SEND Link Governor
  • Sixth Form Link Governor
  • Dr Rachelle Donn; Wellbeing Link Governor
  • Mrs Caron Tinto; Careers Link Governor
  • Miss Charlotte Fazackerley; Sustainability Link Governor; 

A full breakdown of the “register of interests” within the Governing Board can be found below.

Below you will also find our Attendance Register.

Poynton High School & Performing Arts College

Yew Tree Lane, Poynton, Cheshire SK12 1PU

01625 871 811